Search magnifier
Open Days 2017: Book Now

Our Inclusivity Committee and Inclusivity Groups

The University Community’s Commitment

The University Community’s Commitment

A strong commitment to the principles of inclusivity, equality and diversity is demonstrated by individuals throughout the University at every level, contributing to the organisation’s success within every facet of its multiple roles as an educator (at both Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels), an employer, a partner (within the communities in which it operates) and as a purchaser of goods and services:

Inclusivity Committee

The University’s inclusivity, equality and diversity framework is overseen by the Inclusivity Committee (IC). The IC aims to develop and promote inclusion, diversity and equality of opportunity for staff, students and other stake holders of the University.

Members of the IC ensure that communication is cascaded to staff; raising awareness, developing knowledge and highlighting the University's commitment to inclusivity, equality and diversity. All members are available to discuss matters related to inclusivity, equality and diversity. The four Inclusivity Group chairs are members of the IC as is the Students' Union Vice-President (Welfare) and the Students' Union Liberation Officers.

The current members of the IC are:

  • Kathy Blease, Governor
  • Pauline Stephenson, Vice-President (Welfare), Students’ Union (or nominated representative)
  • Bruna Diabanza, Black and Minority Ethnic Students' Officer
  • Chandos Green, Disabled Students' Officer
  • Ryan Kingston, LGBQ+ Students' Officer 
  • Jamie Faulkner, Trans* Students' Officer
  • Professor Hakim Adi, Chair of the Inclusivity: Advancing Diversity and Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic Group (IADMEG)
  • Dr Andy Dixon, Chair of the Inclusivity: Disability Group (IDG)
  • Vacancy, Chair of the Inclusivity: Gender and LGB+ Group (IGLGB)
  • Rev’d John Dane, Chair of the Inclusivity: Religion and Belief Group (IRBG) & University Chaplain
  • Dr Wendy Sealy, Union Representative - UCU (Equalities Officer)
  • Felicity Taylor, Union Representative – UNISON
  • Elisabeth Whitaker, Director of Human Resources (or nominated representative)
  • Suzanne Jones, HR/Inclusivity Officer