Search magnifier
Request a 2018 prospectus

Guest Writers

Creative Writing (BA and MA) Guest Writers

  • Professor Jo Shapcott FRSL (poet – Faber, Cholmondely Award)
  • Bernard O’Donoghue (poet  - Chatto & Windus, winner of a Whitbread Award)
  • Helen Dunmore FRSL (poet - novelist and children’s writer, formerly chair of The Society of Authors – Penguin/Viking, Bloodaxe, Scholastic, winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction)
  • Peter Scupham FRSL (poet- OUP and Carcanet, Cholmondely Award)
  • Carol Ann Duffy FRSL, OBE, CBE (poet – Faber, playwright, Cholmondely Award)
  • Richard Holmes FRSL, OBE (biographer – Harper Collins, Whitbread Book of the Year, Heineman Award)
  • Professor Philip Gross (poet, novelist and librettist – Faber, Bloodaxe, OUP, Scholastic, Whitbread Poetry Award)
  • Margaret Drabble (novelist, biographer – Weidenfield & Nicolson, Viking)
  • Howard Brenton (playwright – The Olivier Theatre, The Cottesloe, The National Theatre)
  • Blake Morrison (poet, non-fiction writer – Vintage, Granta)
  • John Burnside (poet, novelist and non-fiction writer, The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Whitbread Poetry Prize; twice shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize.)
  • Lindsay Clarke (novelist - Picador, Whitbread Award)
  • Simon Brett (Detective thriller writer and scriptwriter – tv and radio, formerly Chair of the Society of Authors)
  • Professor David Craig (novelist, poet and travel writer - Canongate)
  • Robert Shearman (TV scriptwriter for Dr Who; playwright; short story writer; the 2008 World Fantasy Award)
  • Mark Greig (screenwriter for BBC TV series Life on Mars and others, including the ITV series Taggart).
  • Jennifer Tucker (playwright – Old Vic New Voices Theatre 503 Award)
  • Simon Armitage (poet – Faber, novelist, film-maker)
  • Dr. George Szirtes FRSL (poet, playwright and librettist  - Secker, Bloodaxe)
  • Bernardine Evaristo (novelist, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Susanna Jones (novelist – Picador, John Llewellyn Rhys Award)
  • Mavis Cheek (novelist – Faber)
  • Gillian Plowman (playwright – Verity Bargate Award)
  • Matthew Sweeney (poet – Jonathan Cape, Cholmondely Award)
  • Adam Marek (short story writer, nominated for the International Frank O’Connor Award for Short Fiction)
  • Jemma Kennedy (novelist – Viking)
  • Nick Warburton (playwright, scriptwriter – tv and radio- and children’s writer – winner of the Radio Times Drama Award, the Richard Imison Award and The Peter Tinniswood Award)
  • Timberlake Wertenbaker (playwright – The Royal Court)
  • Janice Galloway (novelist and short story writer – Secker, Granta)

Literary Agents & Editors

  • David Godwin, Agent, David Godwin Associates, London, New York, Delhi; represents, for example, Jim Crace, David Davidar, Craig Raine, Richard Holmes, Vikram Seth, Claire Tomalin and Booker Prize winners Arundhati Roy, Kiran Desai and Aravind Adiga.
  • Judith Murray, Agent,  Greene & Heaton
  • Hannah Westland, Agent, Rogers, Coleridge and White
  • Juliette Mitchell, Associate Editor, Hamish Hamilton (Penguin UK)
  • Will Francis, Agent, Greene & Heaton
  • James Gill, Agent, PFD
  • Poppy Hampson, Editor, Chatto Books
  • William Shaw, leading Journalist, Editor, UnMadeUp Books
  • John Davies, Editor, Pighog Press
  • Elaine Palmer, Editor, Pulp.Net

Forthcoming Guests

  • Jo Shapcott (as above)
  • Ed Hogan – new novel Blackmoor (Scribner) shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Award
  • Gabriela Blandy, poet and voice coach
  • Professor Vicki Feaver (latest book The Book of Blood shortlisted for the Costa Poetry Award, and the Forward Prize for Poetry, Jonathan Cape)
  • Nicholas Royle (editor and short story writer shortlisted for The Edge Hill Award for Short Fiction)
  • Ra Page, Editor, Comma Press