Loading Events

The Snail Ensemble Presents: Schubert’s Cello Quintet

The SNAIL Ensemble

Join us for the inaugural performance of the SNAIL ensemble featuring Schubert's iconic String Quintet alongside Komitas' 11 Miniatures for string quartet.

The inaugural performance of the SNAIL Ensemble (Saba Safa, Natalia Corolscaia, Alice Norris, Ivana Peranic, and Professor Laura Ritchie) will feature Schubert’s iconic String Quintet in C Major, D. 956, alongside Komitas’ 11 Miniatures for string quartet.

Franz Schubert’s cello quintet, written just two months before his premature death in 1828, has been called the greatest piece of chamber music ever written. This expansive work is a study in emotional extremes and has inspired countless artists in the years since its composition. Komitas (1865-1935) was a pioneering Armenian ethnomusicologist and baritone whose colorful Miniatures offer ample opportunity to enjoy quartet writing at its most innovative.

Tickets: £5 (Free for University Staff and Students)

Event details

Saturday 03 Jun 2023

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

£ 5

Our address

I’m looking for