Search magnifier
Clearing 2019

University honours award-winners and scientists at graduation

Sarah Kempson -  Honorary Master of Sport

INFLUENTIAL figures from the world of sport, science, and television are to be recognised for the contributions to their fields with prestigious accolades from the University of Chichester.

The dignitaries, who will receive honorary doctorates, have been chosen to join the University as their pioneering work reflects its values and heritage of inspiring students to exceed their expectations. The group are to be given their awards alongside nearly 2,000 graduates at the Chichester Festival Theatre on Sunday 16 September.

University of Chichester Vice-Chancellor Professor Jane Longmore said: “Graduation is a rite of passage, a celebration of transition as students end their journey at Chichester and set off into the wider campus of life. As educators, we are aware that the most successful people in the twenty-first century will be those who are resilient and have a growth mindset, social skills, emotional intelligence, and creativity. 

“Student are leaving this University with all these qualities and with the confidence and determination to seek their own path through their career. They are now part of the distinguished story of this University which stretches back 180 years. I congratulate them all on behalf of the University and wish them a successful and happy future.”

Laurie Borg -  Honorary Doctor of Arts

Ceremony 1 (9:30am) - Sarah Kempson: Honorary Master of Sport

Ms Kempson graduated from the University of Chichester with a first-class degree in Physical Education and Teaching, and has gone on to flourish in all of her professions. Since the age of 20, she has played for three of the largest clubs in Women’s football: Portsmouth, Millwall and, currently, Lewes FC. Sarah also captained England Ladies’ European championship-winning beach soccer team in 2017, and was later named the inaugural recipient of Beach Soccer Worldwide women’s player of the year.

Ceremony 2 (11:30am) - Professor Elizabeth (Lisa) A H Hall, CBE: Honorary Doctor of Science

Professor Lisa Hall is an internationally-recognised authority in the fields of chemistry, biomedical engineering, and physics. But she is equally known in the world of sport as the President of Disability Snowsport UK, with special interest in communication with people with learning difficulties.

She currently holds a chair in Analytical Biotechnology in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology at Cambridge, having become the first female Professor of the University’s Queens' College in 2003. Professor Hall was appointed a CBE in 2015 for services to higher education and sport for the disabled.

Ceremony 3 (2pm) - The Earl of Selborne GBE FRS DL: Honorary Doctor of Science

Fourth Earl of Selborne John Roundell Palmer is an ecological expert and businessman. One of the most respected parliamentarians in the UK, he received the highest recognition of the Order of the British Empire as Knight Grand Cross (GBE) in 2011 for services to science. He has been and continues to be one of the most influential figures in UK science and environmental policy and is Chairman of the Foundation for Science and Technology.

Ceremony 4 (4pm) - Laurie Borg: Honorary Doctor of Arts

Award-winning producer Laurie Borg has worked on some of the most popular television shows of all time including Peaky Blinders, Black Mirror, Gunpowder, as well as Sense and Sensibility. A recipient of a BAFTA and Emmy award, Mr Borg recently visited the University to speak to students about his career with director Ang Lee, actors Emma Thompson and Kit Harrington, and writer Charlie Brooker.

To find out more visit or email

Professor Elizabeth (Lisa) CBE - Honorary Doctor of Science and The Earl of Selborne -  Honorary Doctor of Science