University Graduates Nominated in Sportswomen of the Year Awards

Three graduates from the University of Chichester have been named among the nominees for sportswomen of the year following their remarkable contributions to the world of sport.

Anita White – Changemaker award Nominee

Anita White

Anita has been nominated for the prestigious Changemaker award due to her continuous efforts to promote gender equity in sport.

Launched in 2011, Anita founded the Anita White Foundation to educate, empower and invest in female leaders and scholars in sport. The foundation also preserves the heritage of the women and sport movement as well as conducts and facilitates impactful research.

Anita said, “I feel very privileged to have worked with so many inspiring and committed individuals, from the UK and around the world. I am thrilled with the progress that the women and sport movement has made in the last 50 years, but there is still more to be done.”

Emma Wiggs – Disability Sportswoman Nominee

Emma Wiggs

Emma has been nominated for the Disability Sportswoman of the Year due to her notable success and outstanding performance in para-canoeing. Winning gold in the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics, her success continues to inspire others.

Charlotte Henshaw and Laura Sugar were also nominated as part of the GB Para-canoeing team.

She took to Twitter to celebrate the nomination, “What an honour to be alongside these legends, and what a HUGE achievement by @BritishCanoeing Paracanoe Staff Team for creating performances to get THREE athletes shortlisted!”

Hannah Mills – Sky Sports Team Nominee

Hannah Mills

Hannah has been nominated for the Sky Sports team of the year award, alongside her partner Eilidh McIntyre. The award recognises the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts.

The combined efforts of the team in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics lead them to winning gold which in doing so made Mills the most successful female Olympic sailor in history.

In the 2017 New Year Honours, Mills’ dedication and success in Sailing was recognised when she received an MBE. She has also previously won Female World Sailor of the Year, in 2016 and voted UK Young Sailor of the Year in 2002.

Our address

I’m looking for