Search magnifier
Book Your Open Day

UCAS Tariff Points

We recognise the UCAS Tariff point system. Conditional offers may be expressed as either grades or UCAS Tariff points. Sometimes it is helpful to use the UCAS Tariff so that recognition can be given for taking an Extended Project Qualification or a (fourth) AS level. The Tariff can also be useful for expressing some flexibility in the grades required (e.g. CCC and BCD attract the same points).

The UCAS Tariff:

  • Is a points system used to report achievement for entry to higher education in a numerical format.
  • Establishes agreed equivalencies between different types of qualifications.
  • Provides comparisons between applicants with different types and volumes of achievement.

In the UCAS Tariff, points are awarded to various level 3 qualifications such as A levels, BTEC Nationals and the CACHE Diploma, as well as some music examinations and other smaller qualifications.

Points awarded to A and AS level qualifications
Grade A level AS Level
A* 56 N/A
A 48 20
B 40 16
C 32 12
D 24 10
E 16 6


Points may only be taken into account for AS levels over and above the minimum requirement of 2 full A levels and only if the AS level has not been taken through to full-A level. Please check the entry requirements for your chosen course carefully.


Points awarded to Extended Diplomas
Grade Points
D*D*D* 168
D*D*D 160
D*DD 152
DDD 144
DDM 128
DMM 112
MMM 96
MMP 80
MPP 64
PPP 56


Points awarded to National Diplomas
Grades Points
DD 96
DM 80
MM 64
MP 48
PP 32


Points awarded to Extended Certificates
Grade Points
D 48
M 32
P 16

Further information on the tariff, including a downloadable version of the full Tariff, can be obtained from the UCAS website.