Outbound Exchanges

Students outside cloisters

Information on outbound exchanges

Quick links:

Research where you can go

A study abroad placement gives you the opportunity to study at one of our partner universities around the world for one semester or a full academic year as an exchange student.

To find out whether your course offers an exchange opportunity, speak to your exchange tutor, they will be able to recommend exchange partners, let you know when you can go on exchange and for how long. Most students go on exchange in their second year and sometimes the first semester of their third year, every course is different so speak to your exchange tutor to find out more.

To find out where you can go on exchange, view our exchange partners to see where you can study. You’ll notice some are restricted by subject and others are institution-wide so could be any undergraduate modules the partner university offers as long as the partner university and exchange tutor are happy with your choices.

When you apply to study abroad you can choose up to 3 exchange partners that you are interested in.

Not sure if you can afford to study abroad, look at funding and support, as we can offer living cost grants and help you apply for travel grants to support you while studying abroad.

To find out more about the exchange programme or to register your interest, just contact exchange@chi.ac.uk.

Please note, not all partner institutions teach in English, so you may need to provide evidence of their language level.

For support and advice please speak to your exchange tutor who can provide guidance on our exchange partners and how to complete your application form.

 

The application process

  1. Please complete the outbound exchange application form (available below), your exchange tutor for your faculty can help you complete your application and must sign it.
  2. Send the completed application form to exchange@chi.ac.uk and the International Office can nominate you to your chosen institution(s).
  3. If your nomination is successful you will need to complete the partner institutions application form and provide other required supporting documentation such as a passport photo, a personal statement and your recent transcripts, the international office and exchange tutor can assist you with this.
  4. The partner institution will consider your application and let you know if it is successful.

Nomination and applications deadlines:

Please note, each partner institution has different nomination and application deadlines, which are normally displayed on their outbound exchange webpages.

Typically nominations will take place for semester one or a full academic year in January to May and for semester two can be from August to November, however some partners expect semester two students to apply in January to May.

If you require any support please send an email to exchange@chi.ac.uk or contact the exchange tutor in your department.

Exchange Student Support

At the University of Chichester, we have an international office and exchange tutors for each of our exchange departments.

Should you need support or advice, you can contact your exchange tutor for your department or the international office at exchange@chi.ac.uk, we are happy to support and provide advice.

 

Name Subject Email
Andy West Sport & Exercise Science A.West@chi.ac.uk
Ben Hall Conservatoire B.Hall@chi.ac.uk
Cathy Childs Dance C.Childs@chi.ac.uk 
Mandy Richardson Humanities m.richardson@chi.ac.uk
Dr. Ben Francombe Theatre B.Francombe@chi.ac.uk
Kirsty Lauder Psychology k.lauder@chi.ac.uk
Elaine Minett Education E.Minett@chi.ac.uk
John Kelly Adventure Education Work Placement Year J.Kelly@chi.ac.uk
Jorge Gutic Business and Tourism J.Gutic@chi.ac.uk 
Kirsty Lawie PE and Adventure Education K.Lawie@chi.ac.uk
Rosey Whorlow Creative and Digital Technologies R.Whorlow@chi.ac.uk 
Christopher Smethurst Early Years C.Smethurst@chi.ac.uk 
Tim Sandys-Renton Fine Art T.Sandys-Renton@chi.ac.uk

Exchange Destinations (Outbound Students)

The University of Chichester currently holds a variety of exchange agreements with other partner institutions in Europe and Internationally.

To find out where you can go on exchange, view our exchange partners. You’ll notice some are restricted by subject area and others are institution-wide so can be any subject the partner university offers, you will also be able to consider modules (normally called ‘courses’ abroad) from any of their undergraduate degrees rather than just the degree that matches your degree. The partner university and your exchange tutor will need to approve the modules (courses) you select and this will happen during your application. When you apply to study abroad you can choose up to 3 exchange partners that you are interested in.

Institution Wide

European Opportunity, funded by Erasmus+ programme

Our address

I’m looking for