Search magnifier
Book your Open Day

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors comprises 20 members and is appointed to oversee the strategic direction of the University. The Board’s responsibilities are set out in the Statement of Primary Responsibilities agreed by Governors in 2005.

All members as of 31 January 2019. 

The University of Chichester is a private company limited by guarantee, registration number 4740553, whose registered address is Bishop Otter Campus, College Lane, Chichester, West Sussex, PO19 6PE.

The University has adopted the Publication Scheme for Universities, as defined by the Information Commissioner. This website includes details of the Board’s membership, the Governance structure of the University, together with the University’s Policies. Requests for further information from the Governors meetings (including minutes from Governors meetings and the various Governors committee meetings) should be addressed to:

In line with the CUC Higher Education Code of Governance the University of Chichester Board of Governors regularly undertakes reviews of its effectiveness. Formal reviews must be conducted every four years. The University’s most recent review was conducted by John Lauwerys and published in February 2015. The report and the Board’s action plan against the recommendations can be viewed online. The Board are currently undertaking a further Governance Review, due for publication in 2019.

From time to time, the University advertises for new members to join the Board. Anyone interested in applying to become a Governor should speak to the University Secretary in the first instance. If you have any queries about the University’s governance arrangements, please contact us:

Sophie Egleton
University Secretary
The University of Chichester
College Lane
West Sussex
PO19  6PE

Telephone: 01243 816051

The University of Chichester is an exempt charity, regulated by the Office of Students (OfS). Please see the Charity Gateway page for further information. 

Members of the Board and their entry on the Register of Interests.


Vice Chair of Governors & Chair of Governors Strategy and Resource Committee
Independent Governor
Interim Chair of Governors
Staff Governor
Church Governor
Independent Governor
Student Governor
Staff Governor
Staff Governor
Independent Governor
Independent Governor
Interim Chair of the Audit Committee and Church Governor
Nicola Nageon de Lestang
Chair of the Honorary Awards Committee
Independent Governor
Church Governor
Church Governor
Independent Governor